Drum roll, please.... 

In addition to naming Paul Welch, of California, to serve as its interim CEO, the AIA has elected its 2011-2012 officers, who hail from Texas, New York, New Mexico, and Virginia. They are as follows: 

* Jeffery Potter, FAIA, (pictured below) will be president-elect in 2012 and will serve as the first vice president in 2011. He is head of Jeff Potter Architects, a four-person architecture firm with offices in Dallas and Longview, Texas.

* Dennis Andrejko, FAIA, was chosen to be a vice president for 2011-2012. He is a principal at Andrejko + Associates and is a tenured architecture professor at the State University of New York at Buffalo.

* John A. Padilla, AIA, was chosen to be a vice president for 2011-2012. The Sante Fe architect ran his own firm from 1992 to 2009 and now works at SMPC Architects.

Helene Combs Dreiling, FAIA, of Virginia, was elected to serve as the 2011-2012 secretary. She currently is principal of The Plum Studio, which she founded in 2009.

For more information, visit the AIArchitect Web site.  

blog post photo