The Smithsonian's Cooper-Hewitt, National Design Museum announced the winners of its annual design awards earlier today. It honored architect and TED conference creator Richard Saul Wurman with this year's lifetime achievement award. Atlanta firm Mack Scogin Merrill Elam Architects received the award for architecture. And Stoss Landscape Urbanism of Boston won for landscape architecture.

Read the full list of 2012 National Design Awards winners...

blog post photo

National Design Award for Architecture winners Merrill Elam and Mack Scogin. Photo © Christopher Agosta