From a wall made of beer bottles to a traveling prayer room that evokes a covered wagon, the recipients of the AIA’s 2009 Small Project Awards run the gamut.

The 20 winners were announced in May and recognized at the association’s annual convention in San Francisco. Now in its fifth year, the awards program is divided into three categories: objects (up to $50,000 construction budget); structures (up to $500,000 construction budget); and “accessible” residential designs.

The jury included: Louis Smith (moderator), AIA, Microtecture; Kenneth Workman, AIA, RWA Architects; Sanford Steinberg, AIA, Steinberg Design Collaborative; Eric McRoberts, AIA, RLPS; Katherine Austin, AIA; and Sherry Ahrentzen, Assoc. AIA, Arizona State University.

View multiple images of each winner by clicking on the slide show button.

2009 AIA Small Project Awards



Washington, D.C.
CORE architecture + design

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Johnsen Schmaling Architects

Bozeman, Montana
Intrinsik Architecture

Decatur, Georgia
Lightroom Studio, LLC

Fargo, North Dakota
Moorhead & Moorhead

Austin, Texas
Legge Lewis Legge

Rehoboth Beach, Delaware



Austin, Texas
Clayton Levy & Little Architects

Eindhoven, Netherlands
Laboratory for Environments, Architecture & Design Inc.

Spring Prairie, Wisconsin
Johnsen Schmaling Architects

Solana Beach, California
Stephen Dalton Architects

Cleveland, Ohio
Robert Maschke Architects

North Vancouver, British Columbia
mcfarlane green biggar Architecture + Design Inc.

Palo Alton, California
EASA Architecture

New Haven, Connecticut
david thompson Architects

Newton, Massachusetts
Moskow Linn Architects

Austin, Texas
Miró Rivera Architects

Accessible Residential Design


Seattle, Washington
ZAI inc.

Evansville, Indiana

Santa Clara County, California
Min | Day