blog post photo

The American Institute of Architects just announced the winners of its top annual awards. The 2011 Gold Medal will go to revered Japanese architect Fumihiko Maki, Hon. FAIA, while Kansas City-based Berkebile Nelson Immenschuh McDowell Architects (BNIM) will be next year's firm of the year. 

Of the decision to award Maki the gold, a statement from the Institute quoted a recommendation letter from Toshiko Mori, FAIA: "He has a unique style of Modernism that is infused with an ephemeral quality and elegance which reflects his Japanese origin," wrote Mori. “What stands out most about Mr. Maki is the consistent quality of his work at the highest caliber and the creation of ineffable atmospheres; his buildings convey a quiet and elegant moment of reflection.”

Here's a complete list of winners announced today with links to the AIA's site.

2011 AIA Gold Medal Awarded

Fumihiko Maki, Hon. FAIA


2011 AIA Architecture Firm Award


AIA/ACSA Topaz Medallion

Lawrence W. Speck, FAIA

2011 Whitney M. Young Jr. Award

Sharon Egretta Sutton, FAIA

2011 AIA Edward C. Kemper Award for Service to the Profession

Chester A. Widom, FAIA