blog post photo
New Acropolis Museum, Athens, Greece; Bernard Tschumi Architects; Associate Architect: Michael Photiadis. Photo © Peter Mauss/Esto

The jury has spoken: The American Institute of Architects has named the 2011 recipients of the Institute Honor Awards in architecture, interior architecture, and urban design. The 27 winners (chosen out of a pool of 700) designed skyscrapers, performing arts centers, and a border control facility; remediated brownfields; and created a database of 550 Chicago buildings for a decarbonization plan; among other projects ranging in scale, program, and location.

In Brooklyn, dlandstudio won props for its Gowanus Canal Sponge Park, which would help remediate contaminated water and create more open public space. On a much larger scale, Bernard Schumi Architects and Michael Photiadis made an impression with the three-layered New Acropolis Museum in Athens – “not a light building,” said the jury. See below for the full list of winners and click here to learn more about each project.

2011 Institute Honor Awards for Architecture

AT&T Performing Arts Center Dee and Charles Wyly Theatre, Dallas, Texas; Design Architect: REX|OMA; Associate Architect: Kendall/Heaton Associates

Barnard College Diana Center, New York City; WEISS/MANFREDI Architecture/Landscape/Urbanism

Horizontal Skyscraper / Vanke Center, Shenzhen, China;
Steven Holl Architects

New Acropolis Museum, Athens, Greece; Bernard Tschumi Architects; Associate Architect: Michael Photiadis

North Carolina Museum of Art, Raleigh, North Carolina; Thomas Phifer and Partners

One Jackson Square, New York City; Kohn Pedersen Fox Associates, PC

The Ford Assembly Building, Richmond, California; Marcy Wong Donn Logan Architects

San Francisco Museum of Modern Art (SFMOMA) Rooftop Garden, San Francisco, California; Jensen Architects / Jensen & Macy Architects

U.S. Land Port of Entry, Warroad, Minnesota; Julie Snow Architects, Inc.

University of Michigan Museum of Art, Ann Arbor, Michigan; Allied Works Architecture

2011 Institute Honor Awards for Interior Architecture

The Academy of Music, Philadelphia; KlingStubbins

Alchemist, Miami Beach; Rene Gonzalez Architect

Armstrong Oil and Gas, Denver, Colorado; Lake|Flato Architects

Conga Room, Los Angeles, California; Belzberg Architects

FIDM San Diego Campus, San Diego; Clive Wilkinson Architects

John E. Jaqua Academic Center for Student Athletes, Eugene, Oregon; ZGF Architects LLP

Moving Picture Company, Santa Monica, California; Patrick Tighe Architecture

The Power House, Restoration/Renovation, St. Louis; Cannon Design

Registrar Recorder County Clerk Elections Operations Center, Santa Fe Springs, California; Lehrer Architects

Vancouver Convention Centre West, Vancouver, British Columbia; Design Architect: LMN Architects; Prime Architects: DA/MCM

Washington Square Park Dental, San Francisco; Montalba Architects, Inc.

2011 Institute Honor Award for Regional and Urban Design

Beijing CBD East Expansion, Beijing, China; Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP

Chicago Central Area DeCarbonization Plan, Chicago; Adrian Smith + Gordon Gill Architecture

Community | City: Between Building and Landscape. Affordable Sustainable Infill for Smoketown, Louisville, Kentucky; Marilys R. Nepomechie, FAIA; Marilys R. Nepomechie Architect + Florida International University and Marta Canavés, ASLA, IIDA; Marta Canavés Design + Florida International University

Gowanus Canal Sponge Park£, New York City; dlandstudio llc

Low Impact Development: a design manual for urban areas; University of Arkansas Community Design Center

Townscaping an Automobile-Oriented Fabric, Farmington, Arkansas; University of Arkansas Community Design Center