Twenty projects have been shortlisted for the 2019 Aga Khan Award for Architecture. The honor, given every three years, highlights significant architectural projects from Islamic societies across the world. Past winners include Bjarke Ingels Group, Zaha Hadid Architects, and Francis Kéré, among others.

The finalists for this year’s award are:

  • Alioune Diop University Lecture Building in Senegal by IDOM
  • Warka Water by in Ethiopia Arturo Vittori
  • Aghinaga Uganda Dormitory in Uganda by Terrain Architects
  • Tadjourah SOS Children’s Village in Djibouti by Urko Sanchez Architects
  • Muttrah Fish Market in Oman by Snøhetta
  • Revitalization of Muharraq in Bahrain by the Authority for Culture & Antiquities Conservation Department
  • Concrete at Alserkal Avenue in the United Arab Emirates by OMA
  • Al Mureijah Art Spaces in the United Arab Emirates by El Mousfy, Sharmeen Azam Inayat
  • Wasit Wetland Centre in the United Arab Emirates by X-Architects
  • Msheireb Museums in Qatar by John McAslan + Partners
  • Jarahieh School in Lebanon by CatalyticAction
  • Palestinian Museum in the West Bank by Heneghan Peng Architects
  • Enghelab Street Rehabilitation in Iran by Iwvan Consultants
  • Arcadia Education Project in Bangladesh by Saif Ul Haque Sthapati
  • Amber Denim Loom Shed in Bangladesh by Archeground
  • Taman Bima Microlibrary in Indonesia by SHAU Architects
  • AM Residence in Indonesia by Andramatin Architect
  • Courtyard House Plugin in China by People’s Architecture Office
  • Tatarstan Public Spaces Development Programme in Russia by Architecturny Desant Architectural Bureau
  • Beyazıt State Library Renovation in Turkey by Tabanlioğlu Architects

Since the program’s inception in 1977, 116 projects from 40 countries have received an Aga Khan Award for Architecture. The 2019 winners will be announced and honored at an award ceremony in the fall.