The Hyatt Foundation has appointed two new members to the Pritzker Architecture Prize jury: Barry Bergdoll and Deborah Berke.

Bergdoll is a Meyer Schapiro professor of art history and archaeology at Columbia University. Previously, he served as the Philip Johnson chief curator of the department of architecture and design at MoMA. “It is an enormous honor to be joining the Pritzker Prize Jury,” said Mr. Bergdoll in a release. “Today, the environmental and social challenges that form a key part of every design brief make the awarding of the prize ever more relevant.”

Berke, a 2016 Women in Architecture Award winner, is the dean of the Yale School of ArchitectureHer firm, established in 1982, has designed projects including the Cummins Indy Distribution Headquarters in Indianapolis, Indiana (2017); the Yale School of Art, New Haven, Connecticut (2000); and 21c Museum Hotels throughout the Southern and Midwestern U.S.

“I am honored to serve on the jury as we celebrate the finest and most humane architecture from around the world,” said Berke in a statement. “I believe the Prize can also help educate the public about what architecture can achieve, now and in the future.”

U.S. Supreme Court Justice Stephen Breyer, who serves as chair of the Pritzker Prize jury, noted the experience in and knowledge of practice, education, and history that Bergdoll and Berke bring to the group. “Their presence will help us keep abreast of both historical and contemporary challenges that architecture is facing,” he said in a statement. “Their broad knowledge of the field and their experienced judgment will prove invaluable.”

Bergdoll and Berke join other Breyer and fellow jury members, including André Corrêa do Lago, architectural critic, curator, and Brazilian Ambassador to India; Kazuyo Sejima, architect, educator and 2010 Pritzker Laureate; Benedetta Tagliabue, architect and director of EMBT Miralles Tagliabue; and Wang Shu, architect, educator, and 2012 Pritzker Laureate.