The American Academy of Arts and Letters, established in 1898, recently honored the 2010 winners of its annual awards.

The Awards in Architecture, selected from a group of 50 architects nominated by academy members, were presented to: Stephen Cassell and Adam Yarinsky, of Architecture Research Office; Michael Meredith and Hilary Sample, of MOS; and the architecture critic Michael Sorkin. The Arnold W. Brunner Memorial Prize in Architecture was bestowed to landscape architect Michael Van Valkenburgh.

Moreover, the academy inducted nine new members, one of whom is Thom Mayne. It also named Fumihiko Maki and Alvaro Siza foreign honorary members.