An independent jury has chosen the 2018 winners of Architectural Record’s fifth annual Women in Architecture awards.

Founded in 2014, the awards series recognizes design leadership across five categories and promotes the visibility and contributions of women to the field.

This year’s awards recipients are:

  • Elizabeth Diller, Design Leader: A founding partner of New York-based firm Diller Scofidio + Renfro, Diller was the only architect named to Time Magazine’s 2018 list of 100 influential people. She has received numerous awards throughout her career, including a MacArthur Foundation fellowship, and she is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Letters. She received her B.Arch from The Cooper Union and is a professor at Princeton University School of Architecture.
  • Lisa Iwamoto, New Generation Leader: An architect who worked in structural engineering, Iwamoto co-founded San Francisco architecture office, IwamotoScott Architecture. The firm was chosen as one of the Architectural League’s Emerging Voices in 2007 and won a RECORD Design Vanguard award in 2011. Iwamoto received a BS in structural engineering from the University of Colorado and an M.Arch with distinction from Harvard University. She is a professor at the UC Berkeley College of Environmental Design.
  • Upali Nanda, Innovator: Director of Research and Associate Principal at HKS, in Detroit, she earned her PhD from Texas A&M University, Masters from Singapore and Bachelors from India. In 2015 she was recognized as one of the 10 most influential people in Healthcare Design by the Healthcare Design Magazine. Her research on human health and systemic wellbeing ranges from neuroesthetics to hard ROI studies; from visual art to campus design. Published in both peer-reviewed journals and main stream media, Upali is a book author, lecturer and crusader for research integration into the practice of architecture.
  • Peggy Deamer, Activist: She is the founding principal of Deamer, Architects and is a professor at Yale University School of Architecture. She founded The Architecture Lobby, a non-profit advocacy group, in 2013 to fight for the value of architecture and architects, and push for greater labor rights and equity in the field. She has published numerous articles, and contributed to and edited several books on the subject.
  • Ellen Dunham-Jones, Educator: Dunham-Jones is currently the director of Georgia Tech School of Architecture’s urban design program. Between 2000 and 2009, she led Georgia Tech’s architecture program, and has also taught at the University of Virginia, MIT and various institutions internationally. Dunham-Jones, who received her M.Arch from Princeton University, is the co-author of Retrofitting Suburbia: Urban Design Solutions for Redesigning Suburbs.

The jurors who selected the 2018 honorees included the Architectural League’s executive director Rosalie Genevro, KPF principal Jill Lerner, architecture critic and Record contributing editor Sarah Williams Goldhagen, SO-IL co-founder Jing Liu, Ennead partner Tomas Rossant, and The San Francisco Chronicle’s urban design critic John King.

The awards will be celebrated in New York City in late October.