The American Institute of Architects has elevated 112 association members to its College of Fellows, a honor that recognizes architects who have made a significant contribution to the profession and to society. Architects who have been AIA members for at least 10 years are eligible. Fewer than 2,765 of the association’s 86,000 members are fellows.

Candidates are nominated within one of the five following categories:

  1. Promoting the aesthetic, scientific, and practical efficiency of the profession.
  2. Advancing the science and art of planning and building by advancing the standards of architectural education, training, and practice.
  3. Coordinating the building industry and the profession of architecture through leadership in the AIA and other related professional organizations.
  4. Advancing the living standards of people through an improved environment.
  5. Making the profession of ever-increasing service to society.

Serving on this year’s jury were: (Chair) Walter Schamu, FAIA, of Schamu Machowski Greco Architects; Henry C. Alexander Jr., FAIA, of Rizo, Carreno & Partners; Phillip H. Gerou, FAIA, of Gerou & Associates; Allan W. Kehrt, FAIA, of KSS Architects; Paula J. Loomis, FAIA, of EDAW; Robert D. Loversidge, FAIA, of Schooley Caldwell Associates; and Jim W. Sealy, FAIA, of Jim Sealy Architect/Consultant.

The 2009 fellows will be honored at an investiture ceremony on May 1 at Grace Cathedral in San Francisco, during the 2009 AIA National Convention.

The AIA’s 2009 Honorary Fellows also have been announced. According to the AIA, “honorary fellowship is bestowed on architects of esteemed character and distinguished achievements who are neither U.S. citizens nor U.S. residents, and who do not primarily practice architecture within the domain of the Institute.” This year’s nine honorary fellows were chosen by the aforementioned jury, with the addition of Lee A. Polisano, FAIA, of Kohn Pedersen Fox Architects, and Marilyn J. Taylor, FAIA, of Skidmore Owings & Merrill.

Below is a list of the 112 new fellows, including the category in which they were nominated and their local AIA component, along with the nine honorary fellows.

The New AIA Fellows for 2009:


Dennis Andrejko, (2), Buffalo/Western New York chapter
Jon Baker, (5), San Diego chapter
Daniel Barnum, (5), Houston chapter
Raymond Beets Jr., (2), Houston chapter
Martha Bennett, (3), Denver chapter
Glenn Birx, (2), Baltimore chapter
Marlon Blackwell, (1), Arkansas chapter
William Browne Jr., (1), Indianapolis chapter
Geoffrey Brune, (2), Houston chapter
Steven Burns, (5), Chicago chapter
Barbara Campagna, (1), Washington D.C. chapter
Arthur Cohen, (2), Boston Society of Architects/AIA
James Collins Jr., (1), Boston Society of Architects/AIA
John Cook, (2), Minneapolis chapter


Richard Dallam, (2), Seattle chapter
Elizabeth Danze, (2), Austin chapter
Ronald Dennis, (2), Dallas chapter
Richard Diedrich, (2), Atlanta chapter
Fernando Domenech Jr., (1), Boston Society of Architects/AIA
Kenneth Drucker, (1), New York chapter
Donna Dunay, (2), Blue Ridge chapter
Walter Eckenhoff, (5), Chicago chapter
George Efstathiou, (2), Chicago chapter
Carl Elefante, (2), Potomac Valley chapter


Antonio Fiol-Silva, (1), Philadelphia chapter
Jonathan Fischel, (3), Chicago chapter
David Fong, (2), San Francisco chapter
Belmont Freeman, (3), New York chapter
Jeanne Gang, (1), Chicago chapter
Louis Garapolo, (5), Chicago chapter
Rolando Garcia, (3), Lower Rio Grande Valley chapter
Michael Gebhart, (1), Boston Society of Architects/AIA
G. Michael Gehring, (2), Los Angeles chapter
Joseph Gonzalez, (1), Chicago chapter
Christopher Grabé, (1), New York chapter
John Grady, (1), New York chapter
David Graham, (2), Minneapolis chapter
Alan Greenberger, (5), Philadelphia chapter
David Greusel, (2), Kansas City chapter
Ronald Gronowski, (2), Portland chapter
Peter Grueneisen, (2), Los Angeles chapter


Eric Haesloop, (1), San Francisco chapter
Walter Hainsfurther, (3), Northeast Illinois chapter
Cara Hall, (2), Eastern Oklahoma chapter
Kevin Harris, (2), Baton Rouge chapter
David Hart, (4), Utah chapter
John Hayes, (5), Philadelphia chapter
John Hedge Jr., (2), Columbus chapter
Robert Heineman, (5), Houston chapter
Robert Heintges, (2), New York chapter
Susan Hensey, (2), North Carolina chapter
Mark A. Hewitt, (2), New Jersey chapter
Jerri Holan, (2), San Francisco chapter
Mickey Jacob, (3), Tampa Bay chapter
Donald Jacobs, (5), Orange County chapter
Lance Josal, (2), Dallas chapter
Bruce Justice, (3), Richmond chapter


Donna Kacmar, (2), Houston chapter
Aram Kailian, (4), Washington D.C. chapter
James Kirkpatrick, (3), Fort Worth chapter
John Klockeman, (3), Minneapolis chapter
Elisabeth Knibbe, (1), Detroit chapter
Sheryl Kolasinski, (4), Washington D.C. chapter
George Kunihiro, (2), AIA Japan
Emily Little, (1), Austin chapter
Steven Loomis, (2), Hampton Roads chapter
Stephen Loos, (3), Colorado North chapter
Forrest Lott, (3), Savannah chapter
Patrick Loughran, (2), Chicago chapter
Douglas Lowe, (5), Los Angeles chapter
Frank Lupo, (1), New York chapter


Jay Macaulay, (4), Dallas chapter
David Manfredi, (1), Boston Society of Architects/AIA
Frank Mascia, (2), Southern Arizona chapter
Garrett Maupin, (3), Alaska chapter
Nancy McCoy, (1), Dallas chapter
Linda McCracken-Hunt, (2), Minneapolis chapter
Ferdinando Micale, (1), Philadelphia chapter
Sigrid Miller Pollin, (2), Western Massachusetts chapter
David Moon, (3), San Diego chapter
Anita Moran, (2), Dallas chapter
Lorcan O'Herlihy, (1), Los Angeles chapter
Susan Oldroyd, (2), San Francisco chapter
Patricia Oliver, (2), Los Angeles chapter


Melinda Pearson, (3), Lincoln chapter
Joanna Pestka, (4), New York chapter
Thomas Posedly, (5), Phoenix Metro chapter
Travis Price III, (2), Washington D.C. chapter
Beverly Prior, (2), San Francisco chapter
William Rakatansky, (2), North Carolina chapter
Gerald Reifert, (2), Seattle chapter
Gregory Roberts, (2), Houston chapter


Jack See Jr., (5), Arkansas chapter
Annabelle Selldorf, (1), New York chapter
Martha Seng, (2), Houston chapter
C. Terry Shook, (2), North Carolina chapter
Gary Siebein, (2), Gainesville chapter
Lynn Simon, (2), San Francisco chapter
Sylvia Smith, (2), New York chapter
Bruce Starkweather, (5), Central Valley chapter
Terry Steelman, (1), Philadelphia chapter
James Suehiro, (2), Seattle chapter
Philip Szostak, (5), North Carolina chapter
J Frano Violich, (1), Boston Society of Architects/AIA


Cheryl Walker, (2), North Carolina chapter
Todd Walker, (1), Memphis chapter
James Washington Jr., (3), New Orleans chapter
Anne Weber, (1), New Jersey chapter
Kendall Wilson, (1), Washington D.C. chapter
Peter Winters, (3), Dallas chapter
Anna Wu, (4), North Carolina chapter
John Yonushewski, (2), Denver chapter

Honorary Fellows

Chang Qing, China
Smiljan Clarke, Chile
Jo Coenen, The Netherlands
Nela De Zoysa, Sri Lanka
Bruno Gabbiani, Italy
Winy Maas, The Netherlands
Manfredi Nicoletti, Italy
Yolanda Reyes, Philippines
Cristian Undurraga, Chile